Best stay-cation EVER

It’s 4pm. The kids are gone. Eric is gone.

I haven’t eaten lunch… what to eat… what to eat… I went to Wal-Mart earlier and bought some fresh fruit and veg- although I think I look the same as I always have when I look in the mirror, my waist measurements say otherwise.

I open the fridge and see a bottle of champagne on the middle shelf, and right below it- strawberries. Standing there with the fridge open, my mind does a Bill Cosby-style analysis. Strawberries are healthy, what goes into champagne? Grapes- Grapes are healthy too!

Shaking my head trying to clear out the chocolate cake logic, strawberries and champagne, isn’t dinner… it can’t be… can it?

With no one else here and nowhere else I have to be tonight… why not?

Dinner

Dinner

But it’s not just the ostentatious dinner that makes the use of vacation days for a staycation awesome; I ran a dozen errands within 5 hours than had been lingering on my to-do list for ages.

Little things that irritated me but I hadn’t dedicated any time to- like the fact that despite several attempts to plant flowers in the front of the house, the seemingly endless rain turned my potting soil and seeds into a primordial soup which is hardly the look I was going for. I bought some ready-to-plant flowers and additional potting soil and turned mudpies into what I hope looks like welcoming landscaping.

In addition to that, I wound up the jumper cables and put them back in their case and back under the freshly vacuumed driver’s seat of my just washed car, which I will attack with the scratch remover stuff I bought after I finish my dinner.

I returned a malfitting bra for two that actually fit, and returned some of the flooring samples that were lying around the house from Eric’s previous home. Recycled an ink cartridge and laptop battery, and donated 6 coats and 4 garbage bags of clothes to 2 charity shops.

If only I felt this productive all the time or actually was this productive all the time I may actually change the world or something!

Leave a comment